top of page
Buscar
  • Foto do escritorandreafanganiello

Human trafficking and unemployment in Brazil

https://www.state.gov/j/tip/rls/tiprpt/countries/2016/258731.htm 

          Take a look at the text above. "The Government of Brazil does not fully meet the minimum standards for the elimination of trafficking;".

          What comes to our minds when we hear "Brazil"? Beautiful landscapes and many beaches. Pelé, Ronaldinhos and Neymar. Huge asses in small bikinis. But what makes it a hard place to live is the contrast between its Nature and humanitarian conditions.

          When men want to say bad things about a woman, they call her a "whore". A high-demand job, by the way. I've been invited to do this job and because I'm terribly alarmed with the naturality that people invite women to become prostitutes - I'm writing about it. Maybe I'm just old fashioned, not "modern" enough to accept it. 

          It's terrible how so casually men have asked me if I want to have sex with them in exchange for money. See, I'm an English teacher and I've been unemployed for some months already. Many men seem to love that. 

          Many men don't really want women to have decent jobs because if women are desperate for money they would do anything, even sell their bodies. And that's what so many men want.

          I am seeking decent ways to leave Brazil, but so far the farthest I could come is to the Northeast, running away from yellow fever and the harmful vaccine against it. My classes are about to start in Pedagogy, and unfortunately I still have to live in this cultural contrast (although I'm really happy I entered in a public university).

         What I wanted to highlight is that I've come to realize that prostitutes are not always poor women, and many of them are not willing to become a whore, but they are under a death threat. For some reason (either their partner pushed them into it or other dangerous men). And it's just so sad to see people saying terrible things about these prostitutes,  as if they were doing that job willingly. For those women who do such a job willingly,  well that's just their choice, no one has anything to do with that. But what about women who have to sell their bodies or die? 

             I have received death threats, I have been suggested to become a whore. So not, Brazil. So not. 

6 visualizações0 comentário

Posts recentes

Ver tudo
bottom of page